Skip to content

Iron Girl 2010

January 15, 2010

I was very excited to do the Iron Girl Triathlon again this year, but learned a valuable lesson about procrastination.

Last year Iron Girl was my first triathlon, I wrote about it here. I was excited, nervous, worried, and happy. I was waiting patiently to do this again in 2010. I knew with four triathlons under my belt, I would do a lot better this year.

Registration opened on the first day of January and I didn’t sign up. Earlier this week I emailed a training buddy to see if she wanted to sign up. I didn’t hear back from her. I found out today that an old training buddy was trying to email me (at my old work address) to see if I was going to sign up.

Well, the stars did not align for me this year. I talked to both of my friends today at about 3:20. We all decided that we wanted to do it as long as the other would be doing it. I quickly got on active (I really dislike active) and tried to register… only to find out that the event was full.

Damn. So sad. I checked Iron Girl Atlanta’s website and saw that they posted that the event sold out at 3:00 PM today.

I was really disappointed. I really wanted to do the race. I just need to push my friends earlier next year to register sooner.

The up-side of this story is that I saved $100. This is good because the friends that I do triathlons with really want to start doing olympic length triathlons, and this will give me more money to invest in those races.

Good luck to all those participating in the Iron Girl Triathlon this year. It is a great first race.

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 29, 2010 11:01 AM

    I Love this post!

Leave a Reply

